top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

The 'spooky' sound...


This week I learn't than many supposed hauntings and locations with a creepy ambience were actually found to have an inaudible noise, often generated by old equipment, which I guess makes a lot of sense, since it's usually old buildings that are 'haunted'. So what is this noise? Well actually it is a frequency of 19 Hz, that is too low for us to recognise, but can he felt and gives an unsettling feeling.


It's even rumoured that some movies have actually incorporated this sound for added effect... one of those was the original Paranormal Activity (if you've not seen it, you should, really creepy!). As a horror fan this is quite exciting to learn, as it adds another dimension that horror movies can employ to make their movies scarier, which is one thing that always worries me, and if there are other effects such as colours, subliminal imaging and maybe in the future, smell-o-vision, the future is potentially bright, at least for horror! I wonder if other movies such as the Conjuring or Annabelle have made use of this sounds? I will happily admit that those series of films are quite scary, at least for me.


I saw one video where the narrator said he listened to the sound with headphones at a high volume level, and had to stop after 30 seconds! To be honest, I listened for a couple of minutes and I didn't feel anything, but how about yourself?


Here's the sound for your listening pleasure 👹 you're welcome! ...



P.s. the cover photo is the 'brown lady' from Raynham Hall in Norfolk, England.


bottom of page