top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

Short Break and First Covid Jab


It's been an exciting and exhausting week for me. My best friend and I, both in need of escaping our homes, and my first trip away since lockdown, made a fairly impromptu trip down to Kent, for a few days castle hopping (Dover, Leeds) and a classic city break (Canterbury). It was most welcome, but I haven't walked around so much for a while, nor drunk so much, that some post-holiday recovery was also necessary. I took this photo atop the keep at Dover Castle, looking across to the Saxon Church and English channel.


To round up the week, I finally got my first Covid vaccine (Moderna) today, after procrastinating for a while, as I really hate needles. It was however surprisingly gentle, and I didn't really feel a thing, so if you have any worries like me, you don't need to be concerned. Now I just wait for side effects, but so far so good...


Update (04/07/2021)


What an experience the Covid vaccine side effects have been. For about six hours after the jab, I felt completely fine, and was hopeful to get away with no side effects, but following this, my left arm ached so so much, that I couldn't do anything, that just lifting a glass was painful, and then just as the late evening arrived, I was visited by the even more enjoyable wonders of chills, super sensitive skin and shakiness, which lasted all through the night. It was only in the early evening of today that I am feeling better, and it's just a light ache in my arm that remains.


bottom of page