top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

she will (poem)


I have spent so much time recently thinking about my feeling and emotions, and in this time, I have been lucky enough to have friends that were there for me to support me and to offer a shoulder for me to cry on.


Life has been very difficult for me in recent years, and I have not always been able to open up about my own problems, and dealing with them alone has been a real struggle. What has been one of the most concerning things for me, is that I am normally a very open person, and so if I have struggled this way, how would someone else that may be more withdrawn about their feelings handle a similar situation?


This got me thinking about those who are least likely to be open about their feelings, and of course I am talking about men, so I wanted this poem to be a kind of "letter" to them, and to anyone else, to tell them that there is someone in their life that wants to help, and wants to be there for them.


I call this poem "she will"...


Those lonely times but you’re not alone.

Those moments absent of intimacy.

Open yourself up, let in a healing touch

And she will gladly hold you


Those painful words you dare not speak.

Those thoughts that drag you down.

Express yourself, let them be spoken,

And she will gladly hear you


Those feelings held deep inside.

Those bitter tears not shed.

Take down your barrier, let them run free,

And she will gladly feel you.


Her embrace awaits you, so go and be held.

Her soul is eager to listen, so go and be heard.

Her heart is open and caring, so go and be felt,

And she will love you even more.

bottom of page