top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

my father (poem)


I think it's important that we take the time to acknowledge those that have played such valuable roles in our lives, and without a thought I can picture the faces of those that have meant so much to me. One of the most important people for me is my father, and that explains why I was always a daddies girl. He was there for me as a child, through my teenage years, and he was there for me recently during some of my greatest struggles.


That is why I wrote this poem, to be just a small token of my appreciation, and to celebrate him, as I believe I am a much better person today because of him.


I call this poem "My Father"...


My father,

Who made me, and raised me,

He seeks no gratitude, yet is my unsung hero.


He demonstrated,

How a woman should be treated.


He provided,

Even though I showed no gratitude.


He comforted,

When I felt unwell.


He read,

When I could not sleep.


He made time,

After long hours working.


He taught,

The most important lessons.


He showed,

Places that inspired my passions.


But in all these things,

No words can do him justice,

My father.

bottom of page