top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

Flashback Friday


I thought to myself, which photo would be most fitting for a Flashback Friday, when I realized that the Tokyo Olympics are just over, and I knew I had a photo with the Olympic rings in the background, but obviously not from Japan :) ... So this photograph was taken 'way' back in 2017, at the Port of Sochi in Russia.


I like this photo a lot for the ambience it portrays, a sense of calmness illustrated by the gentle sea, and of course a few cool Sochi seafront attractions too. You can see the Olympic Rings (Олимпийские кольца) that were added for the Sochi winter Olympics in 2014, and the lighthouse (маяк). I especially like the three mast ship in the background, but I can't remember the name.

This trip was an exciting one for me, because not only did I get to see my family and stay with my cousin, but my best friend and my boyfriend both came over for a few days to experience Russia with me. There's nothing nice than having the people you care about join you an a trip that means so much.


So we didn't spend all our time in Sochi, instead we had lots of day trips (and some times longer... Russia is a big country) all around the country from Sochi to Rosa Khutor, and from Moscow to Zavidovo, just to name a few. My boyfriend and I went hiking in the Caucasus Mountains, we visited a Sky Park, which was only 'slightly' scary, and enjoyed some climbing, my first time, on a climbing wall near Zavidovo, while my best friend and I enjoyed some shopping in the Moscow Metropolis mall, and then some experiences of the Moscow nightlife. It was an amazing holiday.


bottom of page