top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

Daphne du Maurier


So there was a movie called 'Rebecca' (2020) on Netflix, which I had seen advertised many times, and I was always intrigued with it being my namesake feature film. I finally watched it exactly a week ago, and it was amazing, just the right mix of romance, mystery, suspense, and surprising twists. I discovered shortly afterwards, that it is actually a movie adaptation of a novel (same name) by the author Daphne du Maurier.


After looking online, I found that she had penned several other novels, and while she is known as a romance novelist, some of those stories are said to be filled my mystery and hints of the supernatural, which is perfect for little horror loving me. I looked into a few of her novels, and my attention was caught between 'My Cousin Rachel' and 'Jamaica Inn', in which both have darker undertones and romance, but in the end, the decision came to 'My Cousin Rachel', as it has that same mystery feeling about it, as did 'Rebecca'.


After a few days, the book is finally in my hands, and I must say it has lovely cover art and would look perfect perched on anyone's bookshelf or cabinet. I just hope I can get around to it soon.


Just after I had ordered another 'My Cousin Rachel', I found out that the original story of Rebecca may have actually been a plagiarism of a book released just 4 years earlier called 'A Sucessora' by Brazilian author Carolina Nabuco. So now I hope that 'My Cousin Rachel' can live up to the story of Rebecca.



And here is the trailer for the movie 'Rebecca' ...


bottom of page