top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Alderson

Cakes and biscuits


Today after lunch (Cheese and Branston's Pickle sandwiches, délice!) I was enjoying a Mr Kipling Bakewell Tart for dessert and reminiscing of different cakes and biscuits from childhood and how I feel about them today.


So I'll start with Bakewell tarts, they're a shortcrust pastry tart with jam, frangipane and a cherry on top. I remember they've always been a favourite of mine, except when I was younger I always removed the cherry lol, but today I am happy to say the cherry is awesome, and the tarts are wonderful! My only complaint is that I can't get enough, and they're so moreish! I've had other similar cakes like Bakewell slices in cafe's, but the Mr Kipling one is the best.


While I was looking for a picture as the cover of this blog post, I remembered French Fancies, and they are good memories, so I will definitely be on the look out for them during my next grocery shopping trip. Battenburg is another cake for which I have fond memories, but I am not sure if it's about the cake or just the marzipan coating?! However, I had a Battenburg recently, and I remember how tiny it was! Have they shrunk the size, or do they just look bigger when you're a kid? Well I wonder about that.


I don't know about you, but one memory is of the overrated Wagon Wheels... and honestly I really don't think marshmallow is very nice in general either, and if you overdo it on a fire or above a tealight, it's so disgusting! The same feeling goes to the 'famous' teacakes too!


I've been going on about cakes, with no a word about biscuits, so I guess I should remedy that now! What I have learnt this week, is that I don't like Rhubarb biscuits very much. I had a packet of Rhubarb biscuits from the RNLI shop when I was on holiday in the summer, and I finally got around to tasting them, and honestly I was quite unimpressed, there was just something about the flavour I didn't like, but then again it's been so long since I had Rhubarb, and if there is a Crumble, I usually take something else like Apple and Blackberry.


Over Christmas, I had a Belgian biscuit selection too, and held many fond memories of them, but again they were quite disappointing. I have to say that Custard Creams and Shortbread fingers are the winners for me. Especially Shortbread, it's just always perfect, not too sweet, but hit's the spot!


So what are your favourite cakes and biscuits? I am always out to sample something new.

bottom of page